Who owns the Media in India?

Times of India:

As of now, Indu Jain is the Chairman and CEO of Bennett Coleman & Co Ltd which holds the TOI. The Times of India is Indian English newspaper owned by The Times Group . It is owned and published by Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. which is owned by the Sahu Jain Family.

Both are owned by Bennett Coleman and Company Limited (BCCL), which is controlled by the Jain family. It owns Times Group, India’s largest media group. Since the ownership is dynastic, no wonder their editorial supports the dynastic political parties.

It is also often reported that Indu Jain is a follower of Sri Sri Ravishankar.

Republic TV:

Republic TV is a part of ARG Outlier Media Private Ltd., which was primarily funded by Rajeev Chandrasekhar, a Bharatiya Janata Party member of parliament in the Rajya Sabha and the vice-chairman of the Kerala wing of the National Democratic Alliance.

Arnab Goswami is the Chief Editor of the Republic TV and it’s Hindi channel Republic Bharat.

India Today and AajTak;:

India Today was established in 1975 (during Emergency) by Vidya Vilas Purie (owner of Thompson Press), with his daughter Madhu Trehan as its editor and his son Aroon Purie as its publisher.

Continue reading

Free speech and TV Media Bigotry 

The power of the TV:

TV Media is a powerful medium. It’s power lies in moving people to form an opinion without giving all facts or giving just rudimentary facts. Print media does not have this privilege. In the guise of breaking news TV news and say anything and get away with it.

What is bigotry?

This is the definition of bigotry:

“stubborn and complete intolerance of any creed, belief, or opinion that differs from one’s own.”

If a breaking news is devoid of facts or complete falsehood or if news channel telecast a religious or criminal bigot’s untested views or worse threats like a loudspeaker, would that be fair?

Show cause notice to NDTV & other TV channels:

Continue reading