Who owns the Media in India?

Times of India:

As of now, Indu Jain is the Chairman and CEO of Bennett Coleman & Co Ltd which holds the TOI. The Times of India is Indian English newspaper owned by The Times Group . It is owned and published by Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. which is owned by the Sahu Jain Family.

Both are owned by Bennett Coleman and Company Limited (BCCL), which is controlled by the Jain family. It owns Times Group, India’s largest media group. Since the ownership is dynastic, no wonder their editorial supports the dynastic political parties.

It is also often reported that Indu Jain is a follower of Sri Sri Ravishankar.

Republic TV:

Republic TV is a part of ARG Outlier Media Private Ltd., which was primarily funded by Rajeev Chandrasekhar, a Bharatiya Janata Party member of parliament in the Rajya Sabha and the vice-chairman of the Kerala wing of the National Democratic Alliance.

Arnab Goswami is the Chief Editor of the Republic TV and it’s Hindi channel Republic Bharat.

India Today and AajTak;:

India Today was established in 1975 (during Emergency) by Vidya Vilas Purie (owner of Thompson Press), with his daughter Madhu Trehan as its editor and his son Aroon Purie as its publisher.

Continue reading